Convergent Series

learning, using & teaching metal clay, and other aspects of life

Three Silver Spool Beads

Posted by C Scheftic on 2010/01/10

Here’s a triplet of fun spool-shaped beads that I made last November:

Three spool-shaped beads.

They are delightfully easy to make. They are a bit fragile when you have the dried looped parts, before you apply the ends, so you have to work carefully. And they take a bit of “elapsed” time while you wait for each end to dry, before you can fire them and end up with such fine silver pieces. But I hope you agree with me that they’re well-worth the effort!

Here’s what I’ve done with them:

Three Spools strung with Onyx.

Personally, I do love the patterns in the black beads, as well as the silver beads.

The necklace uses a simple commercial clasp. I guess if I’m going to make more of these spool-beads (and I do think I will!), then I’ll have to come up with a home-made clasp to accompany them.

Back to the design-board… Your suggestions are welcome!

Leave a Reply

 
