Convergent Series

learning, using & teaching metal clay, and other aspects of life

Support networks.

Posted by C Scheftic on 2010/08/15

When I take on new passions (like this one for metal clay), I do tend to assume that my friends will accept and support my doing so. (I will, for example, be forever grateful to the group of friends who came down to Art All Night a few years ago, not just because I thought it was a great event, but because I’d taken a very deep breath and agreed to give my very first public demonstrations of working with metal clay at that venue. Did I mention that it draws upwards of 10,000 people?) But it is only fair that these friends are permitted to assume I will do the same for them.

So when my friend Barbara met and married Bob, I happily adopted him as my friend too. And when Barbara supports Bob’s passion for “professional cars,” of course I support both of them in that.

Which is how I ended up spending several hours this afternoon down at the 2010 Muster of the Tri-State Antique Fire Engine Association, a local chapter of the Society for the Preservation & Appreciation of Antique Motor Fire Apparatus in America.

This year’s event was, once again, held down along Pittsburgh’s North Shore, near the end of what is called the Allegheny River, just before it joins the Monongahela to form the Ohio. (Local sports fans might describe it as, “right next to Heinz Field” (home of the Pittsburgh Steelers) but I prefer the river-based description myself… Especially because, in the heat of the summer, the pumper-sprays blowing in the wind can be so refreshing!)

A number of photos did not work out (something I knew at the time) because the point-and-shoot camera I had with me couldn’t figure out how to “focus” on the spray-haze. But this last shot has a brown “blob” on the left edge of the big oval arch that is a very oversized bronze sculpture of Pittsburgh’s own (Mr.) Fred Rogers. See, the bronze offers a (long stretch, I admit it) art-metals tie-in after all!

Leave a Reply

 
