Convergent Series

learning, using & teaching metal clay, and other aspects of life

A 25-foot-long drying tray?

Posted by C Scheftic on 2010/09/17

I’m trying to figure out how to arrange my studio-to-be. Here’s another photo of the space, facing back t’other way:

From Studio

This is in a former elementary school now being used as a community center. One thing I find particularly interesting is that one side-wall has a chalkboard along its entire length. It’s been painted-over, so I can’t use it as an actual chalkboard (well, not unless I re-paint it with chalkboard paint, which I am considering doing for a _small section_ of it…). I cannot hammer into it to hang anything, but there is a rail above the board that I can use as a sort of “picture rail” if I want. Whether I hang items from that, or just tack them onto the board-area, I’m thinking I can use a lot of that “board” space to display an assortment of useful printed materials. (And I have prints and artwork to hang above it, including a framed set of Escher’s Metamorphosis II that is almost 13 feet long.)

Working in metal clay, however, I do keep thinking that at least some of that chalk tray (a bit over 25 feet (7.6 meters) long) looks like it’d make a superb clay-drying rack (with a nice safety-lip along its edge)! But it’s rather low-down (27 inches (about 0.7 m) from the floor). If it were higher, I could imagine fitting tables or storage or something underneath it. Since it’s sticking out, there are a number of things I cannot push completely against the wall in front of it. I can put any of my taller bookcases / display units along the wall opposite that, but at least part of the tray will be blocked by some work benches.

Stay tuned to see how this plan evolves…. And, of course, constructive suggestions for designing this space are welcome!

2 Responses to “A 25-foot-long drying tray?”

  1. Alice Walkowski said

    Every space has it’s challenges. I’ll be interested in seeing how you work this out. (Sorry no ideas yet. Will have to see it in person for that.) It’s going to be a great space though. How about magnetic paint on a wall to hang info

    • C Scheftic said

      Thanks, Alice. You know, of course, that any time you should find yourself in this nieghborhood you’re welcome to stop by, and we can go over to check it out! (I can get into it now, to measure and plan; it’s just the actual move-in that won’t be until October.)

Leave a Reply

 
