Convergent Series

learning, using & teaching metal clay, and other aspects of life

Rivety Bits

Posted by C Scheftic on 2010/12/14

Last summer, I mentioned getting a great little tool that helped one make lovely-looking rivets. What with one thing and another, I haven’t gotten around to implementing many of the ideas I had for using it. But here are three photos of two fairly basic pieces I made recently to explore some of the design issues involved in this approach.

The first one shown (above) used a semi-tubular rivet. That is one that has a closed dome on one side, and an open tube on the other. The only photo I got (before a delightful woman stopped by my studio and bought it right off my worktable) shows the domed-side of that rivet (though I don’t think it’s a very good shot of the little disk with a swirl pattern that the rivet is holding).

The remaining two photos (below) show a piece that uses an eyelet-style rivet. That rivet is made from a tube, so the opening goes the whole way through. (Thanks, Deb, for helping me out with those brass ones that are just the right size!) The nice thing about those is that it was possible to slip a bronze jump ring right through the rivet-opening to use for hanging the piece.

There are two ideas I’m starting to play with in that design: how to select good, complementary patterns as I overlay pieces and, since I try to make as many of my pieces as possible to be fully reversible, how to arrange the bits so the little circle from the rivet-tube lands somewhere that “makes sense” on both sides.

Leave a Reply

 
