Convergent Series

learning, using & teaching metal clay, and other aspects of life

Happy New Year!

Posted by C Scheftic on 2011/01/01

As I’m sure you know, people will often start a project with enthusiasm. Then, after a while, it starts to feel more like a chore, and they drop it.

Well, if it seems like a chore, that makes sense. The question, which applies to many aspects of life, is how to keep it fresh and interesting and motivating.

In that sense, the “it” can be anything. For me, in the context of writing here, there are several relevant “it” possibilities: the making of jewelry and other small adornments in general, making them through the specific application of “metal clay” techniques, and writing about both via this blog.

WordPress has launched a “program” to encourage people to continue to maintain blogs that they have started. There are two: postaday2011 and postaweek2011.

Now, for me, the thought of having to post every day holds no interest. To me, that would become a chore. But averaging once a week is about the goal I set myself when I started this, one year ago today.

I have not gotten upset with myself when, on occasion, I’ve gone more than a week without posting: if I didn’t have something to say, why write just to be writing? Or, if I was so busy, so otherwise engaged for a week or so, why stress out just to post, rather than wait until a better moment? As long as I averaged that pace over about a month (and occasionally posted more when I really did have more to say) that has seemed fine to me.

In that context, I am tagging this post as my entry into the “postaweek2011” program. I’ve no clue if I’ll both feel inclined and remember to tag every post that way: seems kind of silly to me to over-tag things. But I’ll try to remember to include that at least some of the time.

The thing I’d appreciate would be to see more comments in response to my posts. Through basic statistics such as number of hits, I can see that people read them (though I can’t tell who you are): Please speak up!

~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~

The photo shown with this post is the same one I used when I launched this blog a year ago today: the large, central, “fine” silver bead is the very first one I ever made using metal clay techniques. Clearly, I’m still motivated to make small adornments that way!

4 Responses to “Happy New Year!”

  1. Alice Walkowski said

    I’m with you about posting. Posting should be done when there is something to say. I usually post once a week but sometimes it’s longer and occasionally more than one in a day.
    And yes, I agree with you too about getting more comments. (Thank you Carol for yours and the other three people who comment on my blog.) It is apparent that people are reading but like you I wonder who they are. The only comments I don’t want are the spam I use to get in Japanese that was advertising some sex thing. At least now I can view my comments first and decide whether I want to post them or not.

    • C Scheftic said

      And thanks back to you, Alice, for being my most-consistent commenter.

      Among the things I like about using WordPress for this blog are the options it offers for handling comments. Maybe next time we’re together in person we can set up adjacent laptops and do a side-by-side comparison of that and other blog-host features. Not to get the other to change, necessarily, but to explore features we like or wish we had, maybe figure out how to do comparable things in each system (she says, ever the teacher and always wanting to learn more…).

  2. mjcache said

    Really enjoyed your blog. Interesting thoughts. So with you on the ‘what is the point of writing when there is ‘nothing’ to write about.

    • C Scheftic said

      Thanks, MJ. To me, it’s not just the waiting to write until I’ve something to say myself but, even more, preferring to read when that author has saved up until they could say something of interest!

      Clearly, I’m happy to have found your blog in return!

Leave a Reply

 
