Convergent Series

learning, using & teaching metal clay, and other aspects of life

Trying Art Clay Copper (Post #7 of ?)

Posted by C Scheftic on 2011/03/17

I keep talking about the “stuff that popped off’ (or didn’t pop off as I’d been led to expect…) when I quenched my fired pieces of Art Clay Copper. It struck me that, if you haven’t seen this, you might not know quite what I mean.

The photo with this post shows what was left in my bucket once I poured off the water after firing my first two trays of this product. It doesn’t include what fell of either in the pickle pot or as I was cleaning up pieces that had been pickled, nor does it include what I managed to scrape off with a dental pick. Those actions, however, generated far less fall-out than did the initial quenching.

To give you a sense of scale: In all, I fired about 90 grams of clay. The copper oxides in that little plastic cup are somewhere between 2 and 3 tablespoons in volume. Admittedly, there’s a good bit of air in between all the little chunks but, still, it looks like a lot of “lost” copper to me…

Leave a Reply

 
