Convergent Series

learning, using & teaching metal clay, and other aspects of life

Does this piece have a “front” and a “back”?

Posted by C Scheftic on 2011/05/18

After making the two-hearts piece I mentioned in my last post, I still had a bit of prepared-bronze left, so I just kept going. This is what I did with almost all the rest of it:

Concave Side Convex Side

Do you think this piece has a distinct front and back? If so, which is which to you? Or, do you see it as fully reversible, that is, with it being possible to call either side the front?

While a wearer can decide which side to wear facing out, when it’s displayed for sale, only one side will face out. When it goes to a gallery for sale, which side would you put facing out?

2 Responses to “Does this piece have a “front” and a “back”?”

  1. Alice Walkowski said

    They both work as the front, but when displaying I think I would display the convex side. It’s my favorite. Interesting!

    • C Scheftic said

      Thanks, Alice! Much appreciated.

      I like both sides, but for different reasons. In the end, however, I think the real key will be how the purchaser intends to wear it: I’ll supply it on an 18″ cord, which should let it land somewhat high on the chest, where it should look great with the flatter side down. But if the wearer wants to go either much shorter or longer than that, to where the folds on the convex side have a place to nestle, they may choose to reverse it.

      That versatility is one of the main reasons why I enjoy such shapes!

Leave a Reply

 
