Convergent Series

learning, using & teaching metal clay, and other aspects of life

After-JAM

Posted by C Scheftic on 2012/09/29

It’s taken me a week, but I wanted to write a note to say “Thanks!” to everyone who ventured out to the Juried Artists Market at the Westmoreland Museum of American Art last week. It’s always great to meet new people, and it’s a special treat when I find out that some people who’d found me and my work online have then headed over specifically so they could meet me in person and examine some of my pieces for themselves. (You know who you are!)

Of course, I rarely think to take photos during events, but this photo shows what my table looked like before we started.

I was assigned to the space in front of the Bud Gibbons’ 1992 painting “Winter” from his Four Seasons series. You might have thought they’d’ve put Barbara Campbell there, with all her warm hand-spun yarns and hand-woven clothing, and let me have Spring at my back instead of her since so many of my pieces have floral themes. We probably could have just traded locations, if only we’d thought of it before the show opened. Oh well. With adjoining spaces, we were able to chat during the lulls.

If you couldn’t make it over to The Westmoreland, or if you were there and had “second thoughts” about passing up on a particular piece, know that I’ll be having an Open House (shopping opportunity with, as time permits, a few demos of various parts of the process) at my studio on Saturday, October 13. The Wilkins School Community Center’s big Eco Fest is happening that day, from 10 am to 2 pm, and I’ll be there, in my room upstairs (over the front door). Please come up and say, “Hello!”

Leave a Reply

 
