Convergent Series

learning, using & teaching metal clay, and other aspects of life

Adding to the stash: Chains!

Posted by C Scheftic on 2012/11/11

I’ve been amazingly restrained in my bead-buying lately. But I’ve made up for that, in part, by buying chain. Not finished necklace pieces, but by-the-foot lengths that I can cut up into segments and intersperse with beads for hanging some of my hand-made pendants.

The first photo with the post (right) shows spirals with some of the chains I got at Zelda’s store-closing sale. I might have bought more then, but she had already sold out on much of it.

The second photo (left) shows crossed-lines of some small segments of vintage chains that I bought from CoolTools. I might have bought more but, just looking online, I wasn’t sure how big some of the segments / elements were in each design. So I bought short-ish lengths and can just hope that my favorites will still be in stock when I go back to order some longer segments.

And the last photo, again to the right, shows waves of some of the chains that I got from three different vendors at the recent Bead Mercantile show. The brass- and copper-plated finishes are ones I expected; the two brightest “pink” ones (rightmost) are both a somewhat-surprising-to-find rose gold plated. I’m not entirely sure what I may do with those so, again, I just bought a couple relatively short segments that I can play with as I finish assembling pieces for Holiday-season sales. Unless, of course, I decide to just hold off on using the rose gold segmants until I’ve had a chance to make some more pieces in a rose-bronze.

I’ll just have to clear off a work table, then spread out chains and beads and pieces I’ve made, and start rearranging elements until at least some things start to fall into place. I just hope I’ll remember to take a few photos, so I can post some of the results here before the year is out.

2 Responses to “Adding to the stash: Chains!”

  1. I love, love, love the chains you got from Zeldas. They are so different. I used some of the chain I bought at the Bead Mercantile show already and am thinking about getting more. I like the idea of interspersing beads and chain to make the chain go farther but it sure does take time. Looking forward to seeing what you will do with these.

    • C Scheftic said

      Thanks, Alice. Of course … the most interesting ideas often take lots of time, don’t they? Not always, of course, but all too often!

      I’m glad you finally got to attend one of the (relatively small but at least local) Bead Mercantile shows yourself.

Leave a Reply

 
