Convergent Series

learning, using & teaching metal clay, and other aspects of life

Another Quick Peek—Another New Ring

Posted by C Scheftic on 2014/02/08

Here’s another Champagne Bronze ring, this one topped by (hey, I just couldn’t resist it) a Champagne CZ. This one took a little while to tell me what it wanted to be….

It incorporates several of the other bits I said I’d try to write about another time in an earlier mention of shrinkage. The strip that I bent into this band didn’t shrink anywhere near as much as I’d expected, which caused me to re-think how I’d assemble it. The oval pieces on the top shrank about as much as I was expecting in length by width but, as far as I can tell, they shrank not at all in height. And that height matters in the re-design of this ring too: I’d thought I might make it so that they could spin (like the petals in my fine silver flower ring with ruby), but their thickness made that difficult. Yeah, I know ways around that, but this was just a supposedly-quick little trial piece, so I tried something else, to confirm how well they’d fuse in place. That did work out well and, again, I like the color (even though it still looks a bit more like sparking rose´ than champagne to me, though not quite as much as the first one I tried).

I can of course make a bronze spinner later, when I can find time to do more accurate calculations on the shrinkage and actually plan it out. For now, I’ll just wear this one as-is, and quite happily, as a test of how rings made this way with this new product will hold up. Which is probably all for the good anyway, as I’d’ve treated a spinner as a special-occasion ring, when having another nice Champagne Bronze ring for everyday wear is far more practical.

2 Responses to “Another Quick Peek—Another New Ring”

  1. Jenny E. said

    This one is awesome!!

    • C Scheftic said

      Thanks, Jenny. I’ve been wearing this one everywhere (even during some gardening workshops, where I’ve been digging and planting!), and I’m delighted that it’s holding up great. I’m hoping to find time (no clue when!) to make another one, this time like the “silver flower with ruby” ring you noted earlier, where some of the elements can move around! (That’s a bit trickier in bronze than silver, but it should be possible! Time is the issue for me….)

Leave a Reply

 
