Convergent Series

learning, using & teaching metal clay, and other aspects of life

Holiday Season Special Earrings!

Posted by C Scheftic on 2015/11/22

While I was going crazy coloring ornaments, I also colored a few little copper stampings that I then made into earrings. (Done quickly, most have been colored on one side only: unusual for me, but it makes sense since this is an entirely different process.)

Because of the raw copper underneath, these are bound to come out a bit darker than many of the ornaments, but I still think they make cute little casual holiday treats. I don’t normally like to coat my metal pieces, but I did put a waterproof acrylic coating over the colored side of each piece. I still wouldn’t recommend wearing them while you swim or otherwise expose them to any chemicals but they should hold up under normal use beyond that.

I could make more of those, or just make singles and hang them as pendants … if there seems to be interest. Time will tell!

And then, while I had the stampings out, I made a few red-green-glitter ovals too, and priced those the same as the other decorated stampings. Making those reminded me of a number of the reasons why I am not, personally, a big fan of glitter. (Maybe if I did more with it I’d learn more tricks; I do have some dear glitter-crazy friends and I’m sure they’d be happy to help me. But I do know the basics and my issue is that I think it’s too much mess and and what feels like sheer work to justify in my own mind the end result: it can be nice but I just find other techniques so much more fun!)

Still, I’m happy to fulfill custom order requests: I do have all the stuff to make more and would be happy to keep going until I’ve used that up, should anyone want more once these are gone!

Oh, and both kinds of earrings are offered on hypoallergenic niobium earwires that have been anodized to the nice dark-copper-brown color shown here.

2 Responses to “Holiday Season Special Earrings!”

  1. I like the top ones. Not a fan of glitter either. Use to hide it from my students.

    • C Scheftic said

      Yeah, and glitter really does not play nicely with metal clay! I try to keep my studio reasonably clean, but it is a work area, so I don’t normally fuss too much. But I feel I have to clean obsessively after a glitter-session or else I’ll find glitter-pits in everything for months on end.

      I only do glitter out in the hallway, which at least can be damp-mopped. But, as you well know, even with care one still trails glitter for some time afterwards.

      Which is a shame, as I do like how it looks if it would just stay where it was intended!

Leave a Reply

 
